The EC Has Disqualified 5 Presidential Aspirants.

It’s 48 days more to the presidential and parliamentary elections and the guard to make it to the top and emerge as President for the country has became the order of the day.

Campaigns in the midst of the pandemic is no exceptional, but yet following strict Coronavirus protocols with the area that is being held.

But one of the most important things to do before other things should and can follow suit is filing for nomination in the country at the EC’s.

On behalf of the Commission, I welcome you to today’s Let the Citizen Know. Today’s encounter is aimed at updating the general public on the just ended Filing of Nominations by Presidential Aspirants who wish to contest the December 7th 2020 Election.

With the filing of Nomination, the EC has now complied its list of Presidential candidates that have sailed through to contest for the coming December 7th Election.


Good afternoon citizens of Ghana and our friends from the media. We thank the good Lord for this day. His Grace and Mercy has brought us this far and will lead us to peaceful, credible, transparent and fair elections December, 2020  in Jesus’ mighty Name.

On behalf of the Commission, I welcome you to today’s Let the Citizen Know. Today’s encounter is aimed at updating the public on the just ended Filing of Nominations by Presidential Aspirants who wish to contest the December 7th 2020 Elections.

As I emphasized during the weeklong process this is one of the most critical activities in the lead up to the December 2020 Elections, without which, the Commission cannot run the Elections.

As a result we designated Monday 5th October, 2020 to Friday 9th October, 2020, for this important process.  We thank all our Stakeholders for their cooperation with the Electoral Commission. It is worth noting that most of the Candidates who filed their nominations presented themselves in a courteous  and civil manner. In a nutshell,  we achieved our objective of ensuring a peaceful, seamless and productive exercise.

Ladies and Gentlemen,

This year, the Commission set up two (2) Teams which were tasked to review all the Forms submitted.

The technical team scrutinized the Forms submitted to ensure that Aspirants satisfied the qualifications as set out in the law such as the; age requirements, fulfilment of tax obligations among others etc.

We are confident that both Teams have been thorough and yet fair in their work

Yet another welcome innovation was the five (5)-day period provided for the filing process as opposed to the two (2) days provided in previous nomination processes. This allowed enough time for Aspirants to correct any errors identified in their Forms

All in all these innovations helped eliminate the confusion and tension that  characterised previous nomination processes.

Filing of Nomination Forms by Presidential Aspirants

As noted in our last Let The Citizen Know  Seventeen (17) Presidential Aspirants filed their nominations to contest the December 7, Presidential Election.

The Commission is happy to note that for the first time in our nation’s history, three (3) women put themselves up for nomination for the position of Presidential Candidate. This is a testament to the growth of our democratic space.

Now to the reason why we are here. At the end of a thorough review process, I have the honour to present to you the Presidential Candidates who have qualified to contest the 2020 Presidential Elections.


  1.      Alfred Kwame Asiedu Walker, Independent Candidate
  2.      Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo (New Patriotic Party)
  3.      Christian Kwabena Andrews (Ghana Union Movement)
  4.      Brigitte Akosua Dzogbenuku (Progressive Peoples Party)
  5.      John Dramani Mahama (National Democratic Congress
  6.      Akua Donkor (Ghana Freedom Party)
  7.      Nana Konadu Agyeman Rawlings (National Democratic Party)
  8.      Hassan Ayariga (All People’s Congress)
  9.      Ivor Kobina Greenstreet (Convention People’s Party)
  10. Henry Herbert Lartey (Great Consolidated People’s Party)
  11. Percival Kofi Akpaloo (Liberal Party Ghana)
  12. David Asibi Ayindenaba Apasera. (People’s National Congress)




  1. Kofi Koranteng (Independent Candidate)
  2. Mauvrich Kofi Gane (Independent Candidate)
  3. Akwasi Addai Odike (United Progressive Party)
  4. Kwasi Busumbru (People’s Action Party)
  5. Nana Agyenim Boateng (United Front Party).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s